Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage will form the basis of our play and learning. We will provide an interesting and varied curriculum and work with the RBWM Early Years team to offer the best standards of care to our children.

We are always looking for new and exciting easy to deliver high quality learning experiences for your children as your child works towards the goals within the Early Years Foundation Stage.

We offer a broad range of educational opportunities and provide experiences that enrich your child’s social emotional, cognitive and creative talents. We will encourage your child’s uniqueness and individuality.

The provision for children’s development and learning is guided by the Early Years Foundation Stage. Our provision reflects the four overarching principles of the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.

  1. A Unique Child: Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.
  2. Positive Relationships: Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  3. Enabling Environments: Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners, parents and carers.
  4. Learning and Development: Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early year’s provision including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

We include What to Expect When in our welcome pack, as a guide to your child’s learning and development through the Early Years Foundation Stage.

How we provide for development and learning

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered by us helps children to continue to learn by providing them all with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development.

The Prime Areas of Development and Learning are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
  • Communication and language

The Specific Areas of Development and Learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

For each area, the level of progress that children are expected to have reached by the end of the Early Years Foundation Stage is defined by the Early Learning Goals. These goals state what it is expected that children will know, and be able to do, by the end of the reception year.

The Development guidance sets out the likely stages of progress a child makes along their learning journey towards the Early Learning Goals. Bears in the Park applies these matters when we assess children and plan for their learning. Our provision and planning will support children to develop the knowledge, skills and understanding they need for:

Personal, social and emotional development

  • making relationships
  • self confidence and self awareness
  • managing feelings and behaviour.

Physical development

  • moving and handling
  • health and self-care

Communication and language

  • listening and attention
  • understanding
  • speaking


  • reading
  • writing


  • numbers
  • shape, space and measure

Understanding the world

  • people and communities
  • the world
  • technology

Expressive arts and design

  • exploring and using media and materials
  • being imaginative